Monday, 9 June 2014

Things that make you happy!

Just a quick little life post for you all today! I've been thinking a lot recently about trying to make more of each day, appreciate everything and enjoy life's little things. 

"Remember the little things in life, for one day you'll look back and realise they were the big things".

So, with that, here are 5 things I've been trying to savour this month.

1. The seasons - although I'm a hot weather girl through and through, I've been purposely trying to appreciate the 'summer- or so called', so that come the Autumn and through to Winter and into Spring, I'll be able to enjoy all the special parts of each time of year!

2. How far I've come - this may sound silly, but whenever I feel even a little bit down, hesitant, unsure, upset etc etc...I try to think about how much I've overcome, and where I am now, compared to where I was 3 years ago. If you've got further than you were then (whether it be a little or a lot), then just think how far you could be 3 years from now.

3. How lucky I am - I do find myself moaning quite a lot, how I'm too hot, too cold, I don't earn enough money etc etc...recently I've been counting down to my summer holiday, which yes, is totally natural...but with our (my friend and I) constant statements like 'I want to be there now' and 'I can't be bothered for all this time, I just want to go on holiday today' etc...I've tried to sit back and think...at least I can afford a holiday, to a lovely country, with beautiful weather etc...that is a lot more than most people can.

4. My best friend and her little girl - I have a best friend, who I've known since I was 4...and although we don't see each other often due to life being busy etc, when I do see her, it's like nothing has changed, but even in the periods inbetween, I know she's there for me, whenever, through and through. She doesn't judge me...infact I can't think of a single time she's ever done anything but listen and encourage. She also has the most beautiful baby girl, who's smiles, laughter, love and cuddles brighten up the darkest of days. I love them both unconditionally.

5. My mum - it's fair to say I've been the nastiest, most horrible person to my mum in the past, and although we get on better now, and I help around the house, always say thank you etc, ...sometimes it's important to stop and think about your mum, what makes her her, what you really love about her, and tell her how much you appreciate her...on a less superficial, much deeper level than a kiss goodnight and washing up after yourself. Time is short and as you're getting older, don't forget your parents are too. 

What makes you happy? what little things are you appreciating in June? Let me know!

Ella.x

Monday, 19 May 2014

The 30 Day Challenge: Day 2!





Day 2: Where you'd like to be in 10 years.

My honest answer? I really don't know. I currently am in a bit of a stop gap in my life. Having graduated this time last year, and only had a few temporary jobs since, I still have no idea about career options etc. 

So from the little I do know, I can tell you I'd like to: 

  • have moved out again (I lived with friends at Uni for 3 years, but have since had to return home) the novelty of living at home is more than starting to wear thin after a year...

  • preferably have moved to a city again (maybe my Uni city, maybe another)...I much prefer bigger places, more going on etc.

  • hopefully still as close with my friends as I am now. I've no doubt that they're friends for life, and as we don't see each other as often any more, it makes our time together even more special and cherished. 

  • have seen some of my friends maybe get married/have children etc, I can't wait to watch it all unfold, and within the next 10 years is statistically when the biggest life changes are likely to happen, so hopefully there are some weddings on the cards!

  • continue to watch my best friend's daughter grow up into the beautiful, strong willed, hilarious, kind hearted girl she's turning into. 10 years from now, she'll be about to turn 12...I can't wait to see what she's like as she grows, how her personality shapes and the character she becomes.

  • finally have passed my driving test and have a little car all of my own! Please. Dear, Lord!
Ella.x




Sunday, 18 May 2014

Products I'm excited to try #1

Unintentionally over the last week or so, I seem to have collected a nice little stash of products I've never used before. As I'm looking forward to trying them out, I thought you might like to know what's what!




My skin is terrible recently. I do not know what's gotten into it, but deary me someone needs to have a stern word! Whichever moisturiser I use, after a while the dry areas on my face come back with a vengeance, and the oily bits well, the less said about them the better! I decided to try this moisturiser on a whim, I was just in boots, picked up one that wasn't overly expensive (am very poor this month!), but hoped would do the job! 

I've since read reviews which are less than favourable about this product, but I'm all up for giving it a go! Watch this space!

I actually got this as a free sample from Elle magazine. I saw somebody (can't remember who now) raving about it, and thought it was too good an opportunity to pass up. So off I trotted and there it was. I'm very intrigued by this, as people seem to have mixed reviews about it, saying it's the best one they've tried, yet doesn't really work....what?! 

As my pores are a real problem area, I am hoping upon hope that I get on well with this product, and if it's a success I'd be more than happy to pay for a full size one!

I am one for my shower gels! I don't have a favourite as such, and switch and swap quite regularly (depending on what's on offer...told you I was poor!) but I'm very picky about the smells etc. I saw these limited edition bottles in Morrisons (on offer for £1) and set about sniffing them all in great detail. I chose Alluring in the end, which is star anise and blush peony, although I still think I really chose it for the butterfly on the front, rather than the scent. I'm giving it a go though, will be interested to see it's lasting power and lathering potential! 

Ultimate Blends Silky Smoother Shampoo and Conditioner - £3.89 each

I picked these up a while ago, but haven't used them much yet. They're part of a new range by Garnier, and I was very interested in them. I'm very hit and miss with shampoos/conditioners, but chose the one for 'mid to long hair with split ends' as I can definitely tick off all those criteria! They have a wide range including a set for coloured hair, and one for dry, dull hair. After brining them home, I found I wasn't too keen on the scent, which is meant to be vanilla milk and papaya, but I might be surprised once I've used them! Hopefully it will help my hair to feel shinier and silkier! Also, the bottle reminds me of something straight out of the 1960's..anyone else think that or just me?!


And there we have it, rest assured I will be bathing, lathering, showering, spraying, moisturising and makeup-ing (new word, I know), using these products from now on, and will let you know how I get on!

Ella.x

Saturday, 17 May 2014

My Style: Primark Haul!

So, anybody that knows me well, will tell you that I could start my own branch of Primark from my wardrobe! I'm not ashamed to say it, but I do live for shopping in Primark...everyone does really, right?!

Although I often walk through the men's section, I rarely have reason to shop in it. However, with my brother's 20th birthday coming up soon (he's the sort of person that only asks for clothes), I thought what better chance to go and have a mooch round the men's! And what a mooch it was!

The first thing I noticed, was how much quieter, and neater it was than the womens downstairs, and I browsed without fear of stepping on clothes, tripping over baskets or people pushing past!

I was really quite impressed with the quality and design of their SS14 menswear collection and picked up my brother a few bits!

First up I chose this shirt. Now, personally I'd never choose this if I got to style and dress my brother,however, he is extremely picky with clothes, and I know this is a fail safe option for him, as he wears shirts similar to this one all the time. 


I do love the colours, and for £6 for something I know he'll wear for sure, you can't really go wrong!

After I chose this, I decided to go a little adventurous, and chose him two t-shirts which I love, but I'm unsure as to whether he'll wear! He loves plain coloured t-shirts especially blue and white, but I can really picture him in these, so I bit the bullet and bought them!

This one was £7, it's grey, with turn up sleeves (something I love) and has what I'd call 'muted flowers' printed on it. It's a subtle pattern, but close up you can see they're there. If you stand from a distance it'd just look like a plain t-shirt...so I hope he'll give it a go! 





I fell in love with this blue t-shirt as soon as I saw it! The base colour is a dark blue, which he loves, and then it's got little flamingos (I think...please correct me if I'm wrong?!) all over it, which I think are SO cute! I carried this round with me for ages, before finally deciding I couldn't leave without it, and it was only £4!


I'm less sure of this one, but if he doesn't like it, it will happily be finding it's way into my wardrobe! 



As a quick little extra, I found this. How cute?!


My friend is due to have a baby boy this Summer, and I find the Primark baby clothes such good value! I don't agree with spending a fortune on baby clothes, as they grow out of them so quickly! 

This little two pack was £3 and I think any baby would look gorgeous in these!

The only thing I will say is there is ALWAYS more choice for baby girls, than baby boys, why is this?!!








I was also really impressed with the range of men's shorts. I found some for my brother in a navy blue, with turn ups with little anchors on. Unfortunately as happens all too frequently in Primark, they didn't have his size. Oh well...just an excuse for another trip soon to to hunt them out!

Let me know, have you been to Primark lately?! What did you buy?

Ella.x 

Friday, 16 May 2014

Friday Feelings: Washing Your Hair Backwards!

So...I've been reading a lot of blogs lately, which talk about washing your hair backwards, me being a very sceptical person, I've been very dubious about this...but I also tend to jump on the bandwagon...so couldn't resist giving it a go!

Here's how I got on! 

After rinsing my hair, I applied conditioner to the tips (which are very dry and horrible due to split ends and dip dye!). It felt slightly odd putting conditioner on my unwashed, greasy hair, but I went with it and tried to ignore it. I've read it's best to leave it for a good 5 minutes, and although this was frustrating, I just about managed it. 

I then thoroughly rinsed the conditioner out, and got my shampoo ready. As I lathered my hair with shampoo, I did notice that I needed considerably less shampoo than normal. I'm not sure if this was related to the backwards washing, or was just a fluke! When I rinsed the shampoo out, I also noticed it came out of my hair more easily, and was less awkward (if that makes sense) to rinse out.

In the interests of a fair experiment, after towel drying and combing through, I didn't put any products (normally I use mousse, oils etc) in my hair. I then left it to dry naturally.

So here we are, the next morning. From first glance, my hair looks the same, natural curls have sprung up all over the place and I look like I've been dragged through a bush backwards.

After styling I can safely say there is no difference. Yes, I'm aware that this technique is best suited to fine hair (whereas mine is curly and thick) so I wasn't exactly expecting my hair to come out looking sleek and shiny. However, shampooing after conditioning is meant to remove any excess conditioner, and the conditioner that soaked in during the 5 minutes is said to leave your ends soft and smooth. Unfortunately, my ends didn't feel any smoother than normal, and were still dry. 

So, the only positive I can find, is it used less shampoo than normal, meaning replacing the bottle less often, meaning a slight rise in the bank balance!

Apart from that...

Did it work? No, not for me.

Would I recommend it? No.

Am I going to try it again? I might give it one more go, but in all honesty, probably not going to be a regular thing.

So, was this post helpful? Probably not.

Confusing? Maybe.

Given a totally different opinion to every other post surrounding washing your hair backwards? I hope so, and some realisation that really, nothing much can change your hair...your hair is yours, appreciate it, don't be that girl who's got curly hair but longs for straight, or has straight but wishes it was curly!

Ella.x

Thursday, 15 May 2014

The 30 Day Challenge! Day 1

Thought that this might be a good little series to do! We all know I ramble on a bit, so now I can ramble about specific topics, whilst you all get to know me a little better! 

It will hopefully help me cut down rambling on all my other posts, if I restrict it to these!

I may do it in 30 days, as I doubt I'll be able to keep up with 1 question per day, but slowly, I will get through all the questions! 




Day 1: Your current relationship, if single discuss how single life is.

I'm currently single...so what? I think life is defined far too much these days, on people's relationship status. Your in a relationship? I'm glad. You're single? Great. You're in that unknown in-between territory? Good. It doesn't matter...you're still you, you're not defined by what your relationship status is!

So yes, I'm single...but I don't sit and reflect on that fact everyday! No matter what, you should embrace your life (relationship or single) how it is right now, at this very moment. 

I'm happy, I have amazing friends and a good family and I'm living my life how I want to. If the man of my dreams suddenly appears, then great, if not, then it's no loss. I find sometimes people who are in relationships focus solely on them, and everything else is shut out. Similarly, people who are single get so hung up on finding 'the one' that they forget to open their eyes on the beauty of life around them. Obviously, if you're in a relationship your partner is a major part of your life, but never let it overtake you, or be everything, it's just not healthy. 

Admittedly as I get older (23 in a few weeks, eeeek!) and more of my friends have children, move in with significant others and get married, I do start to wonder what I'm doing wrong and if it will ever happen. Really though, I know I'm not doing anything wrong, it just isn't time in my life yet! Your life is mapped out for a reason, embrace it!

What do you think about relationships? 

Ella.x 


Wednesday, 14 May 2014

"His opinion does not define you"

The other day, I was mindlessly wasting my evening scrolling through Tumblr, when I came across a post, from Louise (Sprinkle of Glitter....if you don't know who she is, stop reading this and go discover her this instant!)...the post was this...





As soon as I saw this, it instantly gave me the words to sum up everything I'd been feeling for over a year, but had never been able to express.

You see, around 6 years ago, I became best friends with someone, and I couldn't have been happier. I was going through a hard time, and without him and another friend I'd recently made, I don't know what I'd have done. It was amazing, we were inseparable.

I was always a weak person, and clung on to both of them as tight as possible, I needed them. We did everything together, went through finding our feet after Alevels, wondering about our futures, applying and then dropping out of Uni..and we all supported each other through personal hard times.

However somewhere in all of this, without me even knowing, I began to become very manipulated and controlled.

He didn't like people who wore leggings...so when we hung out, I wouldn't wear leggings...

If he wanted to meet on Tuesday at 12pm, that's where we would meet...regardless of if I had other plans, could get there or wanted to go...

If we were going somewhere, I'd have to look up train times...

If he was hungry, I'd go and get him food...

If he didn't like a song, we didn't listen to it...

We did things his way.

What was going on? To put it simply, I was being sucked in by his opinions, his values and ultimately, I was under his power. Sometimes I didn't like what he said, or how things worked, but I never realised how bad things were, and even if I had done, I needed him, and was too weak to do anything about it...

Around 3 years ago, I moved away to Uni...to say I was terrified was an understatement. I didn't make friends, came home to visit every weekend and was on the phone to him crying all the time. 

Around a year and a half in, things changed. I found myself with a group of 6 friends, who I love more than life itself, and would be lost without. Slowly but surely, they brought me out of my shell, they loved me for me, encouraged me to be me...and I am a totally different person to the shy girl who started Uni 4 years ago. I was experiencing so much, things he'd never approved, so I'd never done before. To this day, I can't believe the transformation.

However, they also made me see what was going on at home...despite me proclaiming they were wrong, or it was all fine...I began to see that they were right. I wondered how I'd never seen something, that was now so blatantly obvious. I also felt embarrassed, as they could see it so easily, that meant everyone around me could see it too. I felt like a mug.

I've changed beyond belief, and although half of that was due to moving away, learning to live independently, starting a degree, making new friends etc, I also know that some of these changes would have occurred at home, if I hadn't been under his spell so much. 


Eventually, I decided enough was enough, things with him were getting worse, he began to tell me I'd changed, take the mickey out of what I was wearing, the things I did on the weekend and the person I was. 

My friends said he was jealous...jealous I'd move out, moved on, jealous of them and my new life. To this day I'm not sure... but what I do know, is that it actually has no relevance, because whatever the reason, his behaviour was not acceptable.

My extremely long fuse, had just blown. Words were said, arguments were had. I cried, he cried. Meetings were arranged to try and talk things through. 

Throughout this, my opinions and feelings were disregarded and manipulated as normal...but this time was different...I stayed strong. 

We said we'd give it time, less contact, more contact...but deep in my heart of hearts, I knew that was it.

It's now been a year and a half since I last saw him, and throughout that time I've felt guilty, needy, been drawn back into the friendship. More than once I've text him, we've spoken, we even arranged to meet...but I cancelled.

Why did I feel guilty?

  •  Because as I said at the beginning, he picked me up from a very bad time in my life, and I'd have been lost without him.
  • We had the best time together and the funny memories are not just ignorable
  • 6 years is a long time and I felt I couldn't just leave it all behind
I could write a million reasons, but ultimately it comes down to this...regardless of how many positives there are...if you are letting his opinion define you...get out.

To this day, I still check his facebook, I still watch videos I have of us, I still miss his good qualities, the way we'd find the smallest things funny, the way we'd find joy in doing nothing, the way he protected me...but I find this has become less and less frequent, and I now feel more than anything, a sense of relief.

I won't lie and say it's not been hard, each time I missed him, or contacted him...I'd go through every emotion under the sun. But really, each time, I knew it was wrong, and felt stronger afterwards.

I also feel a sense of relief after writing this, letting it out, and although I'm extremely nervous about publishing this post...if I help one person realise the message...then it's been worth it.

Just to clarify, we we're only best friends, never anything more.. it doesn't matter the relationship (friendship, boyfriend, girlfriend, family member)...the message is still the same.

I still feel sad writing this, almost that I'm bad mouthing him,and what he'd say if he ever saw this...which proves I'm still under his control, just the tiniest bit, and to be honest, I'm not sure how long it will take to ever get over it completely...but don't beat yourself up about it, take your time, you'll come out stronger, you're the better person...I now feel 100 metres higher than he'll ever be.

Remember, nobody can be you, as well as you can. 

Ella.x











Monday, 12 May 2014

The Disney Tag!

Guess who's back?! After a little break, I'm back again (don't all be excited at once!)...and what better way to start back than by doing the Disney Tag!


 What is your Fave Disney film?

Snow White! This is the only film I was really interested in when I was little...apparently I would sit at the foot of the TV watching it, and recite it word for word, songs and all...day after day after day! I'm not sure why this one drew me in more than the rest, but there we go! So to this day it will always have a special place in my heart! 

Fave Disney Character?

I really love the Lion King characters...Zazu, Rafiki and Ed! 


 Fave Disney Princess?
Oh this is a hard one, I think Cinderella is my favourite Princess.

Rather be Aurora or Cinderella?
Aurora...only because I'm so lazy, I'm always sleeping!

 Rather be Hercules or Tarzan?
Hercules!

 Rather be Lizzie McGuire or Raven Baxter?
Er Lizzie McGuire...no contest!!! At nearly 23 years old I never still sit and watch the Lizzie McGuire movie...nope...never...

 Fave Disney Song?
Well, it depends what mood I'm in but I am CONSTANTLY singing songs from the Lion King and Frozen...so any from those two movies!

Which Disney character would be your best friend?
Mulan I think, she has lots of qualities I like in friends and I think she'd protect me :)

 Which Disney character would be your pet?
The chubby little mouse from Cinderella...Gus!

 Have you ever been to Disneyland?
Never but one day I will!

Wednesday, 30 April 2014

The Beauty Tag!

Hey!

Last day of April and I very nearly forgot to post this! Only I would fail my challenge of blogging every day in April, on the very last day! 

But never fear, 'The Beauty Tag' is here!

1. Do you remember your first make up item?

Yeah, when I was 14 (quite late, I know) Father Christmas gave me some eye shadows and a little lip gloss, as I wasn't allowed to wear make-up I was so shocked, and remember looking at my Mum and saying 'I think he's made a mistake, these can't be for me!' hahahahaa!


Just to clarify, I knew Santa wasn't real, but was pretending for my younger Brother, so was trying to subtly ask her 'Am I really allowed to have and wear these?!!'


2. What kind of coverage do you prefer for your foundation?

Normally I'd say light to medium, but on special occasions and nights out I prefer a fuller coverage.


3. Favourite high end brand?

Definitely Mac! I don't own anything from there myself but have tried their products and I love them! I'm normally more of an eye girl, but their lipsticks are just perfection.

4. Favourite drugstore/highstreet brand?


Hmm tricky! I use a variety of brands for different products...

5. What cosmetics brands have you always wanted to try but still haven't?


I am dying to try the Naked palettes by Urban Decay. I've also heard good things about Nars, and as I said I would love to actually own a Mac lip stick. 


Brands like Chanel and YSL don't really tickle my fancy...

6. Do you wear fake eyelashes?

I buy them, and then never wear them! I've worn them about twice, on nights out. I did get on with them fairly well though, so I might start wearing them again!

7. Is there any kind of make up you can't leave the house without?

No, honestly I leave the house about 60% of the time with no make up on!

8. What is your most cherished beauty product?

Ok, not the usual type of answer here...mine is without a doubt my Urban Decay 24/7 glide on eye pencil in Perversion! It's the only pencil eye liner that actually stays on my eyes! I lost my first one on a night out, and actually cried about it the next day (although that could have been 'cus I was hungover too!)


9. How often do you shop for make up? Do you pick out a lot of products at once?


Erm, well when I need something I'll write it down and buy it next time I go out...but if you mean randomly....I do browse Superdrug and Boots everytime I go shopping, and normally don't come out empty handed...

I also make use of the 3 for 2's at Boots on a regular basis!
 
10. Do you have a 'beauty budget'?


I don't really, but I don't go wild because I haven't got the money..I try to really ask myself if I need it, or more commonly these days, have I read good reviews on it?!

11. What type of product do you buy the most?


Er, well it's not strictly make up, but I buy nail varnish the most, no question about it! I think I've kept Barry M in business for the past 4 years!

12. Do you have a favourite place to shop for make up?


In town I use Superdrug and Boots...depending on any offers or 3 for 2's that are happening! I don't buy make up much online, but I have been using Feel Unique a little, and I'm quite liking it.


13. If you could only buy from one brand, which brand would you choose?


Urban Decay! Because there's no way I could go without my eye liner!

14. Which brand has the best packaging?

I try REALLY hard not to be influenced by the packaging but we're all victims of it, whether we realise or not!  I actually quite like Mac packaging, it's simple yet sophisticated and you know what's what.

15. Which celebrity always has great make up?


I change my mind about this all the time! I've noticed Emma Watson's make up a couple of times.

16. Which do you apply first, concealer or foundation?


Concealer then foundation...


17. Do you like multifunctional products like lip and cheek stains?

I've never really tried them purely because I'm very sceptical about whether they'd be any good...I don't mind being proved wrong though, if anyone wants to suggest some?!



18. Do you apply your foundation with a brush, sponge or fingers?


If I'm in a rush I'll use my fingers, If I've got more time, or am spending longer on my make up then I tend to use a brush.


19. Which foundation do you use the most?

I am using the L'Oreal True Match Foundation the most at the moment, and I'm really loving it!


20. Do you use a make up base or primer for the eyes? 


I use the Revlon PhotoReady Perfecting Primer, which works really well, however I'm not too keen on the smell! I don't use primers for my eyes, because I don't often wear eye shadow.



So, now you know a little more about the ins and outs of make up with Ella!

I'd love to know your answers, so I tag everyone who reads this! I will also tag some people on twitter!

Ella.x


Tuesday, 29 April 2014

Jungle Fever: My Style

Lightweight, fabric trousers are all over the shops recently, but if you don't want to be all over the shop trying to find a pair, then look no further!



I own these giraffe print trousers, I saw them from a mile off and knew I had to buy them. They are literally the most comfortable trousers I've ever worn, it's like wearing your comfiest jogging bottoms, but without the problem of wondering whether you look like JJB's latest model. They are so airy and lightweight, perfect for the warmer weather, and even better to help combat the hot/sticky heat if your lucky enough to be heading abroad this Summer. 


Normally I'd go for a floral design, but recently I've been loving the animal print, and I'm so glad I chose these! They are very flattering, especially if your problem area is your stomach, like me.


Here, I've paired them with a collared shirt (my wardrobe is collar mad!), you could even go for a cropped version if you're confident enough, and a statement tribal necklace. This one is a beautiful ,dark coral colour, which really stands out and brings the whole outfit together.


Some tan sandals complete the look, and I think the contrast between the black trouser and tan colour of the sandal really works. 


By chance this outfit is all from New Look (details below), how much more simple can you get?!





Black Giraffe Print Slim Leg Trousers £17.99 (currently out of stock online, but I've seen them in store in various New Looks during the last week!)





What's your favourite type of trouser? Are you loving the tribal prints and jungle themes at the moment?


Ella.x

Monday, 28 April 2014

In tune! Musical Mondays #1

I always find it really intriguing to find out what other people are listening to. All to often I get so stuck in a rut listening to the same few songs over and over again, and in the end I get so bored I end up hating them!

Also, although if someone asks me 'what type of music do you like?' my stock response is 'anything', really, I would say I'm extremely limited when it comes to Artists and genres, so I also welcome any opportunity to widen my musical horizons!

So, as well as me gaining inspiration off others, it seems only fair I to let you know what I've been listening to over the last few weeks!

The Guilty Pleasure: I would- One Direction

 I LOVE this song, it is an instant pick me up, and if I need a burst of energy or motivation I turn this up loud and dance along! This is from the Boy's 2012 album 'Take Me Home' so is by no means a new song, but I'd never heard it before. It came up as a suggestion on YouTube after another One Direction song, and I've been singing along ever since. I easily listen to this song around 10 times a day at the moment, and when I'm not listening to it, I'm humming the tune aloud!

The Favourite: Flaws- Bastille

Bastille are one of my all time favourite bands, and this might actually be my favourite song they've released so far. However if I could, I'd write about every single song, I love them that much! There's something about the lyrics of all Bastille songs that strike a chord with me, and I find their music really enchanting and slightly haunting, and this song is no exception.  When I get the time I'm going to learn this as my next song on the piano!

The Old School: Bills, Bills, Bills- Destiny's Child

I am in a time-warp somewhere 1995 and 2004. More than half the space in my iTunes is taken up by songs from my childhood and teenage years, I'm a 90's child, through and through! Although I never listened to Destiny's Child when I was growing up, I am now a huge fan. Bills, Bills, Bills is from their 1999 album The Writing's on the Wall. I'm all for girl power and independence, and the sass of this song is off the scale! You just can't go wrong with 90's pop groups,ever.

The Unexpected: The Good and The Right, Ward Thomas

After hearing this on the radio a couple of times I could feel my feet tapping along, however me being me I missed the title every time! I frantically googled and googled until I found the song in question! I fully expected the singer to be a middle aged American lady (stereotyping at it's best) but was surprised to find that Ward Thomas are 19 year old twins Catherine and Lizzy, from England. I've never really listened to country music, but I can't get enough of this song, it's addictive and you can't help but jig along. I feel like Ward Thomas are going to be very big in the months to come!

And there we are. Are these songs music to your ears or did they hit a bum note?

What are you listening to at the moment, I'd love to know!

Ella.x

Sunday, 27 April 2014

April Favourites!

This is a post I've had written since I started, only because throughout this month I have had definite love affairs with various different products! You know some months it's all a bit wishy washy and nothing has your heart...well this month is definitely not one of them! With quite a lot to get through (and my tendency to over ramble being quite apparent) let's get started!

Just a quick note...my camera's have a funny five minutes and isn't working, so have had to resort to the camera on my phone, hopefully you can see past the poor quality when you see how amazing the products are!




Soap and Glory Peaches and Clean 3 in 1 Cleanser - £8.00

I actually got this in a lovely gift set from Boots for Christmas 2013, and it was nice to try new products without having to hum and har about whether to buy them. I have forever been a fan of the soap and glory moisturisers,  but hadn't branched out much further. I was a little reluctant to try this due to it being peach smelling (by no means my favourite scent) but I was pleasantly surprised. I use this every evening (as directed on the bottle) and it has been fabulous! The peach smell is noticeable, but by no means over powering, and it's accompanied by a fresh and zingy mint scent.

 A lot skin care products focus on being refreshed in the morning, but after using this I've found how lovely it is to have a real refreshed feeling at night! Being very lucky I've had relatively good skin throughout my teens and early twenties, but recently it's gone a little mental. I use this cleanser, followed by a moisturiser at night, and my skin is baby soft and energised in the mornings, as opposed to the dryness I've been faced with recently. The formula apparently 'melts away make-up', but I still like to take my make-up off first with a wipe, and then use this as more of a wash afterwards. Soap and Glory have redesigned their skin care products recently, and the one available to purchase now has a different design and a slightly improved formula, but I've no reason to believe it won't be just as good as the older version I'm currently using. I can see this being a firm favourite well into the summer months! 

Moroccan Oil Treatment 25ml - £13.45

You know that feeling when you turn up to a lecture late and the lecturer stops mid sentence, and everyone turns their heads as one, and stares at you? Well, that's how I feel discussing this with you guys now! I know, I'm EXTREMELY late on the bandwagon with this, but I have to say, it's worth every single one of those head turns if it means I get to tell you about this! It has been my saviour!

 For someone who is trying to be the next rapunzel and have floor length hair, so avoids having it cut (YES, i know this is bad, no need to tell me) along with having dip dyed ends this oil has been amazing. I put it on the ends of my hair (just to the top of the dipdye) when my hair is wet after washing (about 4 times a week) and it has made such a difference. My ends are less dry and straw like, and much shinier and have more life in them.

I've heard of others putting this throughout their hair, but in all honesty, I'm very lucky in that I don't think my hair needs it all over. It is a little pricey if on a budget, but it will last forever and I would pay a million times over for the amazing things this oil does to my hair! For someone who one once doused their whole head in frying oil (chip, anyone?) I'm just glad I've had a much more positive experience with oils second time round! Come payday, I'm eager to try more products in the range! 

Ghost Deep Night Eau De Toilette 30ml - £24.50


My love affair began with this perfume last year, when one of my house mates (and bestfriend) was always spraying it for nights out. I bugged her (or pecked her head, as she would say) enough about it, that she very kindly bought me one for my birthday, and I have been loving it ever since. 

Despite the name (deep night) and the bottle colour and shape ( a dark, mysterious, blue moon) I'd say this perfume is 100% more of a Spring/Summer fragrance, and I have been loving wearing it more and more as the layers come off and the sunglasses go on! It's a really inviting, deep, exotic scent that draws you in!

I normally don't get on well with eau de toilettes, as in my opinion they never last as long as actual perfume. There is nothing more irritating than the scent disappearing after a couple of hours. Ghost deep night is the exception to this rule, and even after a long, busy day, the aroma is still clearly all over your body and clothing! . I have had much more expensive perfumes (at triple the price) that have no where near as good lasting power as this little beauty.

Sanctuary Spa Hand Lotion 250ml - £4.25

This little gem has been amazing! Being a bit of a clean freak (think constant hand washing, and being a little germ phobic) my poor hands really do suffer, especially in the winter. I first smelt this product in 2012, when I kept getting wafts of it around my house. I couldn't for the life of me understand what it was, until one day I saw my mum putting some hand cream on! After that, I'd always sneak some of hers when she wasn't looking, so much so that this Christmas (2013) she bought me a huge bottle of my own!

The scent is heavenly. It claims to have extracts of shea butter, lotus oil, aloe vera and white tea, but to me it smells lightly of cinnamon and Christmas spices (which I actually normally hate) but I cannot get enough of the stuff! I love that you can really feel it working and sinking into your skin. If you pop it on before bed, you can tell in the morning as you wake up with soft, hydrated hands. It's non greasy and a fairly lightweight formula, leaving no residue after massaging it in.

One bottle easily lasts over 6 months, and I definitely do not use it sparingly! Although it does reminds me of Christmas, I've used it throughout April, and plan on using it all year round!  I used to buy any old cheap hand cream to see me through, but now wouldn't even think of buying another brand! 

Bramblewood Owls Ceramic Travel Mug -(find similar here)

This is a non beauty favourite, but I had to mention it! It seems these cups were everywhere in the shops before Christmas, so I wasn't overly surprised when Father Christmas very generously bought me one in my stocking! I have just a tiny bit of a thing for owls, so the design is just perfect for me! I think the dark grey complements the brighter colours very well, and it's just such a cute design! It is actually meant to keep hot drinks warm (perfect to take to the office) but I haven't actually taken it out the house!

After sitting in the kitchen cupboard for a couple of months, I got it out a few weeks ago, and have been using it ever since! I love using it in the evenings and overnight, I'll fill it with squash and sip it whilst watching a film in bed,then refill with water and have it on my desk just in case I wake up thirsty in the night! I know, I know, a normal cup would do just fine, but it's just too cute! I actually really look forward to my evenings just knowing it's nearly time to use this cup! I am also looking forward to testing it's thermal power when the occasion arises, will let you know how well it holds up! 

As I received this as a gift I'm unsure where it's from, but just a quick google and I've found loads and loads of designs to choose from (and not just owl related), the link above is for just one of the many designs I found! 





So, there we have it, April done and dusted, job's a gooden! Going into May we can look forward to warmer weather, lots of bank holidays and end of the football season creeping ever nearer (praise the lord), but one things for sure, April's beauty favourites definitely won't be sent to the subs bench any time soon!

What's been your favourites for April? Let me know in the comments!

Ella.x


Saturday, 26 April 2014

At your finger tips #1 : Zig Zag Nail Art

Hey!

When I started this blog, I had no intention to do branch out onto youtube. I wanted to concentrate on my writing, making constant alterations until I'd got it just so. However, whilst planning some nail art posts last night, I thought it might be more exciting to do a series of tutorials as youtube videos, rather than writing them in a potentially boring step by step list!

So, here is my first nail tutorial, for zig zag nails! I actually popped this on the internet last Summer (when my last attempt at starting a youtube channel failed) however I can't for the life of me remember my login details, and so I can't take it down, or prove it's mine...but I promise, it is! I'll even show you a picture of my sausage fingers if you want...to prove they match the ones in the video!


Zig Zag Nail Art Tutorial

I feel on cloud nine after finally uploading it to youtube...although this blog is beauty, baking and lifestyle based...my first passion is nail art...so it's nice to be able to give it it's own little creative outlet on youtube...a channel exclusively reserved for polished, glittered and glam nails!

I'll still be doing nail related items on my blog, product reviews etc, but would love suggestions for any nail tutorials you'd like to see on youtube! I have a couple already filmed, but welcome more suggestions!

Hope you're just as positive about this little change as I am! Back tomorrow with my April favourites!

Ella.x