Here's how I got on!
After rinsing my hair, I applied conditioner to the tips (which are very dry and horrible due to split ends and dip dye!). It felt slightly odd putting conditioner on my unwashed, greasy hair, but I went with it and tried to ignore it. I've read it's best to leave it for a good 5 minutes, and although this was frustrating, I just about managed it.
I then thoroughly rinsed the conditioner out, and got my shampoo ready. As I lathered my hair with shampoo, I did notice that I needed considerably less shampoo than normal. I'm not sure if this was related to the backwards washing, or was just a fluke! When I rinsed the shampoo out, I also noticed it came out of my hair more easily, and was less awkward (if that makes sense) to rinse out.
In the interests of a fair experiment, after towel drying and combing through, I didn't put any products (normally I use mousse, oils etc) in my hair. I then left it to dry naturally.
So here we are, the next morning. From first glance, my hair looks the same, natural curls have sprung up all over the place and I look like I've been dragged through a bush backwards.
After styling I can safely say there is no difference. Yes, I'm aware that this technique is best suited to fine hair (whereas mine is curly and thick) so I wasn't exactly expecting my hair to come out looking sleek and shiny. However, shampooing after conditioning is meant to remove any excess conditioner, and the conditioner that soaked in during the 5 minutes is said to leave your ends soft and smooth. Unfortunately, my ends didn't feel any smoother than normal, and were still dry.
So, the only positive I can find, is it used less shampoo than normal, meaning replacing the bottle less often, meaning a slight rise in the bank balance!
Apart from that...
Did it work? No, not for me.
Would I recommend it? No.
Am I going to try it again? I might give it one more go, but in all honesty, probably not going to be a regular thing.
So, was this post helpful? Probably not.
Confusing? Maybe.
Given a totally different opinion to every other post surrounding washing your hair backwards? I hope so, and some realisation that really, nothing much can change your hair...your hair is yours, appreciate it, don't be that girl who's got curly hair but longs for straight, or has straight but wishes it was curly!
Ella.x
No comments:
Post a Comment